The long way back

Ah, how to do this … shortly before Christmas, a review entry

It’s been so much time since I wrote, so many ups and downs, and in reality it has just been some three weeks in five locations.

I never got over Galápagos really. Well, I think it will also not happen ever, but then again life has this way of just going on no matter what, right?

I went to Santa Catalina after leaving Panama City. It is a sleepy little place on the Pacific coast of Panama, only two streets, only backpacking places and small hotels and all life happens at the crossing of the streets. There is the market and the fruit shop, and the best dive center in town.

I went with them for three days, each with three dives a day, to Coiba National Park. Alone the way there …

I drove by these dreamy islands full of jungle with white beaches and mesmerizing waters. The wind blew in my face as the boat jumped over the waves. If I ever felt free, it was then and there. All the beauty of the world I had seen so far came to my mind, the monkeys, the dolphins, the jumping mobula rays, flamingos and penguins, turtles, sharks, sea lions…

The friends I met in the way. The kind- hearted jungle couple and the couple who sleeps in a tent. My dear friends Albane, Francis, tattooed mermaid. So many more, like the cruise crew. My beloved friends and family at home. The beauty of nature, of the wild lava islands of galapagos, of the deep jungle forests in Peru, of the rough mountains around Macchu Pichu.

And there I was … sitting on a speed boat to bring me to some sweet white beach on a jungle island, going diving. I didn’t knew then what was waiting for me under water. I just knew that I had seen so much beauty already, and I still had six weeks more to come!

The feeling of flying and total freedom i had there is undescribable.

And then came the whale shark. This majestic creature, peacefully floating by under water, twice I was so lucky to see it. So beautiful. And with it I saw turtles. Sharks. Murrays. So much underwater live. All together with that peaceful floating feeling of diving. I have no words.

Then, afterwards – how could I top that? Not.

I decided to go where the wind dragged me, respectively the stories of other travelers, and went to Bambuda Castle. It is indeed the only boutique hotel I know of with a dormitory. When I arrived, they did only have privates, but the night shift manager allowed me to sleep in his room (he slept somewhere else). So I ended up in a tower room of the castle, with two other girls. Closer to Hogwarts I can’t get really. I spend a lot of time writing and reading, and just sitting around and watch the sunset. I swam also in the pool and in the jacuzzi. I did a coffee tour and a ziplinging. Ziplining I went with my new friend, Munich punk girl. I miss her. She is so wild, and reminds me very much of one of my teenage crushs. We had a nice rum night the last evening to say goodbye.

Afterwards my journey brought me over Panama City to San Blas islands. Oh islands in the sun.

Well, bad part first: we got the hillbilly accommodation, the honkey-tonk family. They really didn’t care for guests, and just wanted to drink beer. But apart from that, San Blas is just like the dream of islands. White sand beaches, turquoise waters, coconut palms.

After returning, it was too little time for a long trip so I stayed in Panama City. I went to the bio museum, the national park in the city (saw sloths, monkeys, coatis and so much more!) and a tour through the old town. Of course I also went to the rooftop bar of the tower with 66 floors and the infinity pool to see the sunset. Also I found the best place to eat, Solomon’s deli, with delightful Sara Solomon being the owner. I miss their food already. But well, I had to leave. My plane took me to Brasil.

And that is where I am now, in the Amazon rainforest, in a hut in a lodge somewhere in nowhere. We’ve been to the jungle for two nights, sleeping in hammocks, cooking on fire. We’ve seen monkeys – squirrel, howler, Kapuziner – we’ve seen tarantulas, caimans, snakes, made fans from palm leaves, went fishing, swam with dolphins. We also know about drinking from plants and medicine now. We are really lost in the jungle. I write these words and know they will be online only when I return to “civilization”.

And through all my past adventures it dawns on me: home is waiting. Return time comes nearer. On the 30.12. my plane will take me back to Munich, Germany, where work is waiting for me.

Leave a comment